Press "Enter" to skip to content

Yoga Mudra/ Energy Seals

Mudras:

While the practice of yoga means asanas and breathing practices to many, there is a lesser known, more subtle and independent branch of yoga  known as the science of yoga…as yoga mudras. Mudra is a Sanskrit word which means , “gestures”, “seal” or “closure”.  ” Yoga mudras are symbolic gestures often practiced with the hands and fingers. It can be  adopted during pranayams and meditations for the direct flow of energy into our body. Different areas of the hands are connected with areas in the body and the brain. So when we place our hands in yoga mudras, we stimulate different areas of the brain and create a specific energy circuit in the body. By doing this, we help generate a specific state of mind.  Mudras are easy to perform anytime .

A mudra may involve the whole body or could be a simple hand position. Mudras used in combination with yoga breathing exercises enliven the flow of prana in the body, thereby energizing different parts of the body.

Sitting in the lotus position, mudras can be used for healing certain ailments.

Hasta Mudra (Hand Mudra)

The physical body is made up of five elements namely: Air(vayu), Water (Jal), Fire (Agni), Earth(Ether) and Sky(Akash). Certain yoga mudras are believed to instigate particular energy flows and stimulate different emotions, spiritual reactions and reactions in the body. By pressing together, curling, touching or pointing different fingers or parts of the hands in different ways, you can stimulate reflexes from the hand to the brain.

The Philosophy of Five Elements Within Us

The universe is made of five basic elements viz. Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth., and each of the five fingers is represented by one of these elements.

  • Thumb – The fire (Agni)
  • Index finger – The air (Vayu)
  • Middle finger – The ether (Aakasha)
  • Ring finger – The earth (Prithvi)
  • Small finger – The water (Jala)

Diseases are caused due to an imbalance in the body, which is caused by lack or excess of any of the five elements. Mudras are one way of creating a balance between all of these elements.  In order to bring back the balance in the five elements, there are some specific methods of touching and aligning the fingers with each other. These are referred to as ‘Hast-Mudras’

Practice this Mudra’s at least 3 to 5 Min every day for lifetime…

Note: For Illustration, both hands have been put closer..but in practice no need to put your hands closer..!

Yog Mudra Akash
Yog Mudra Akash

Akash Mudra : For Ear Problems.

Akash Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/akash-mudra/

Gyan Mudra / Jnana Mudra/ Chin Mudra

Gyan Mudra / Jnana Mudra/ Chin Mudra: To Increase Concentration Power, for all Mind Related Problems, to Free from Depression.

Gyan Mudra / Jnana Mudra/ Chin Mudra :  http://www.eyogasan.com/gyan-mudra-jnana-mudra-chin-mudra/

Jal Mudra(Yog)
Jal Mudra(Yog)
Jal Mudra / Varun Mudra / Buddhi Mudra : For all Skin related Diseases and Blood Purification.
Jal Mudra / Varun Mudra / Buddhi Mudra : : http://www.eyogasan.com/jal-mudra
Yog Mudra Hriday
Yog Mudra Hriday

Hridaya Mudra: For all Respiratory related Diseases, Asthma, Bronchitis etc.

Hridaya Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/hridaya-mudra/

Yog Mudra Ling
Yog Mudra Ling

Linga Mudra: For Headache, Fever etc.

Linga Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/linga-mudra/

Pachan Mudra (Yog)
Pachan Mudra (Yog)

Pachan Mudra: For Activation of the Digestive System.  Note: Do this mudra only after taking food.

Pran Mudra (Yog)
Pran Mudra (Yog)
Prana Mudra: To activate the Nervous System, for Eye Problem.
Prithvi Mudra (Yog)
Prithvi Mudra (Yog)

Prithvi Mudra / Earth Seal : For peace of Mind, Energise the entire body.

Prithvi Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/prithvi-mudra/

Vayu Mudra (Yog)
Vayu Mudra (Yog)

Vayu Mudra / Wind Seal :For Joint Pains, Stomach Problems, etc.

Vayu Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/vayu-mudra/

Surya Mudra (Yog)
Surya Mudra (Yog)

Surya Mudra / Sun Seal : Cholestrol Problem, etc.

Surya Mudra : http://www.eyogasan.com/surya-mudra/